Skip to Main

SBA Grants Administrative Declaration of Disaster in Otsego County

Governor Gretchen Whitmer announced Wednesday that the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has granted an administrative declaration of disaster for Otsego County following .

The SBA disaster assistance program will make low-interest loans available to residents and businesses affected by the tornado.

“This declaration is an important step in getting the necessary support and resources to the Gaylord community,” said Governor Whitmer in a statement. “It is clear this tornado had devastating impacts in Otsego County. These loans will allow people and businesses to begin rebuilding and will ensure the community continues to move forward.”

“Everyone who knows the Gaylord community knows that our people are strong and resilient in the face of challenges,” added State Senator Jim Stamas. “This declaration of additional available funds will go a long way toward easing the incredible burden that families and businesses have shouldered in the face of this disaster.”

The SBA disaster assistance program provides low-interest loans for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, inventory, and business assets that were damaged or destroyed.

The declaration covers Otsego County and all adjacent counties, including Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Kalkaska, Montmorency and Oscoda. 

Local Trending News