Skip to Main

Michigan Redistricting Commission Selects Final Maps For State


On Tuesday, Michigan made history as the first ever congressional district maps drawn by citizens, not politicians, were chosen.

It will make a major impact on how Michiganders are represented across the state.

After years of work, the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission voted to adopt new congressional, State House and State Senate district maps.

Lets take a look at how the new maps will shake up Michigan’s representation.

This is the approved congressional map titled “Chestnut.”

It’s already changing up the representation in Northern Michigan.

Bill Huizenga is now living in 4th district, potentially setting up a primary race against Michigan’s longest incumbent Fred Upton.

Jack Bergman will stay in the 1st district, covering the entire U.P. and a majority of the Northern Lower Peninsula.

John Moolenaar had a decision to make, as the new map put him in the same district as Democrat Dan Kildee.

Rather than try to win the 8th district seat for the GOP, Moolenaar decided to run in the 2nd district. That includes much of his current district and much of what Huizenga will vacate.

You do not need to live in the district you represent for congressional races.

This is the newly approved “Linden” map for the State Senate.

It has six districts that cover Northern Michigan.

The 38th district, currently represented by Ed McBroom, extends farther east to cover more of the U.P.

However, it does not include the Soo area and much of Mackinac County, which remain in 37th district. That district still covers Petoskey and Traverse City, currently represented by Wayne Schmidt whose term limited out.

The 36th district still includes Alpena to Gaylord, but extends farther south and west to include Grayling, Kalkaska, Houghton Lake and Cadillac.

The 34th district looks a lot like the current 33rd, covering Clare, Mount Pleasant and Big Rapids.

Now the 33rd is a sliver from the Baldwin area down to Newaygo and southeast.

Finally, the 32nd district is the Lake Michigan lakeshore from Frankfort to Muskegon. The northern part is currently represented by Curt Vanderwall.

Here is the new “Hickory” map of State House districts.

There too many changes to cover here, but you’ll notice Traverse City and Leelanau County are now in the same House district, 103.

The 104th, which used to be Grand Traverse County proper, surrounds Traverse City from Frankfort and Onekama all the way up to Torch Lake.

Like the State Senate, the State House map lumps lakeshore communities together in the 102nd, including Manistee all the way down to Whitehall north of Muskegon.