Skip to Main

Four Area Athletes Recognized as MHSAA Scholar Athletes

The Michigan High School Athletic Association has named four area student-athletes as recipients of its 2020-21 Scholar-Athlete Award program.

Olivia Lowe of Leland, Sophia Stowe of Northport, Jäeger Griswold of Ellsworth and Wyatt Sirrine of Leland are four of 10 student-athletes from Class C and D schools to receive the honor.

Presented by Farm Bureau Insurance, 32 individuals from Class A-D schools will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Scholarships are awarded to 12 student-athletes from Class A, eight from Class B, six from Class C and four from Class D.

Sirrine played three seasons of varsity soccer at Leland and is in his second second of varsity basketball. He also plans to compete in track and field for the first time this spring. Sirrine earned all-state honors as a senior and served as captain of a team that reached the MHSAA Division 4 state semifinals in 2020. He was part of the 2018 Division 4 state title teams. Sirrine carries a 4.0 GPA and was selected to the Michigan Olympic Development Program state team. He is a member of the National Honor Society and served on Leland’s COVID-19 Return to Learning Task Force.

He will attend Stanford University and study international relations.

Lowe played three seasons of varsity volleyball, is currently in her fourth year of varsity basketball and will play her third year of varsity soccer in the spring. An all-state honoree in basketball as a junior, Lowe has scored 1,000 career points, and also earned all-league in volleyball and helped Leland to back-to-back Division 4 runner-up finishes in 2018 and 2019. She earned academic all-state individual honors and was part of team honors in those two sports, and served as captain of both of those varsity teams. She is a member of NHS, student council and earned the International Baccalaureate World School Middle Years diploma.

She carries a 4.0 GPA and will attend Hope College to study elementary education.

Stowe was a four-year varsity volleyball player and will enter her third year of varsity soccer in the spring. She earned all-state volleyball honors and also individual academic all-state as part of an academic all-state team honoree. She is a member of NHS and her township’s youth Advisory Council. She is serving as a county health department youth COVID advocate and studying with dual enrollment at Northwestern Michigan College.

She will attend Michigan State University and study human biology.

Griswold is in his second season of varsity basketball and has played two seasons of track and field and baseball. He has earned all-league basketball honors and served as team captain and led the baseball team to conference championships in 2018 and 2019. A member of student of council and NHS, Griswold became a member of American MENSA as a junior and was selected to University of Notre Dame’s Summer Scholars program. He earned multiple honors for community service and serves as lead organizer for charity golf outing that annually raises more than $10,000 to benefit child burn victims.

He will attend either Harvard University or Yale University in the fall.

Other Class D girls finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were: Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek; Josephine Gusa, Ubly; Molly Myllyoja, Dollar Bay; Aubrie Sparks, Boyne Falls; Kiera Welden, Hillsdale Academy; and Mollie Zaleski, Kinde North Huron.

Other Class D boys finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were: Christian Gossage, Hillsdale Academy; Jack Kaplan, Dryden; Connor LeClaire, Dollar Bay; Quincy Thayer, Frankfort; Nicholas Treloar, Hillsdale Academy; and Jacob M. Werner, Bay City All Saints.

The Class B scholarship award recipients will be announced Feb. 16, and the Class A honorees will be announced Feb. 23.

To be eligible for the scholarship, student-athletes must have a grade point average of 3.50 and have previously won a varsity letter in at least one sport that has an MHSAA sponsored postseason tournament.