Here is the latest Michigan news from The Associated Press at 6:40 a.m. EDT

MACKINAC ISLAND, Mich. (AP) — Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel says she will move next month to decommission a Great Lakes oil pipeline if Gov. Gretchen Whitmer cannot resolve the issue with operator Enbridge. The Democrat spoke to The Associated Press on Wednesday at the Detroit Regional Chamber’s policy conference on Mackinac Island, near where Line 5 runs under Straits of Mackinac. Nessel says she wants to “act quickly because every day that Line 5 continues to run is a day that our state is in great peril.”

LANSING, Mich. (AP) — The Michigan Strategic Fund is supporting three development projects with performance-based grants to bring investment and jobs to the state. The Michigan Economic Development Corp. says auto supplier Webasto Roof Systems will receive $350,000 to help expand its operations to a site in Auburn Hills. Record Box will use a $415,000 grant to help redevelop a Battle Creek building. And a $220,682 grant has been approved for D-Town Grand, which plans to rehabilitate a vacant Detroit building.

DETROIT (AP) — The Great Lakes Fishery Commission has selected the final design for a project intended to allow removal of dams from rivers without letting exotic species migrate upstream. The “FishPass” initiative will take place on the Boardman River in Traverse City, Michigan, which is undergoing a restoration program that includes removal of several dams. A mechanism will be installed to weed out unwanted species such as sea lamprey while allowing desirable fish to move upriver.

NEGAUNEE TOWNSHIP, Mich. (AP) — When it comes to Michigan water, it’s the Upper Peninsula against the Lower Peninsula. Negaunee Township, near Marquette, has been declared the home of the best-tasting water in the U.P. by the Michigan section of the American Water Works Association. Negaunee Township’s water will be judged in September against water from four communities in the Lower Peninsula: Jackson, Lowell, Tekonsha and Mancelona. One of the five will be declared the state champion.