U.S. Will Reopen Travel To 8 African Countries

On Tuesday, President Biden reversed his decision to ban travel from eight countries in Africa where the COVID-19 Omicron variant was first identified.

The highly contagious strain was first detected in South Africa in late November.

Travel for non-U.S. citizens from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi was restricted in response.

Biden now says that more information about Omicron and strict travel requirements have made the African travel ban unnecessary.

Under the new order, travel can resume starting after midnight, Dec. 31.

Some health officials, including from the World Health Organization, accused the Biden administration of punishing South Africa for finding and reporting the Omicron variant.

Categories: Coronavirus