USDA Designates 43 Michigan Counties as Disaster Areas

The federal government is designating multiple northern Michigan counties as disaster areas in the wake of severe weather conditions this summer.

The USDA says 43 Michigan counties are primary natural disaster areas.

This will help farmers get assistance from all the flooding and abnormally cold temperatures that happened from March first through the fall harvest.

Many of the 43 counties are in northern Michigan.

Governor Gretchen Whitmer called this growing season historically difficult for Michigan farmers.

Here’s a list of all the counties designated disaster areas: Alger, Antrim, Benzie, Berrien, Cass, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Clinton, Delta, Dickinson, Eaton, Emmet, Genesee, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Huron, Ingham, Iron, Kalkaska, Lapeer, Leelanau, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Menominee, Monroe, Muskegon, Oakland, Oceana, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, Shiawassee, Washtenaw, and Wayne.