Cheboygan Co. Voters Recall 4 Inverness Twp. Board Members Over Stalled Meijer Project

In Cheboygan County voters recalled four Inverness Township board members.

And it stems from a failed development project.

The vote came after the board could not come to a decision on who would provide water to the site of a new Meijer, a project that has been in the works for three years.

Frustrated community members filed two petitions for a recall vote.

The first was denied by the judge, but the second was approved in April.

On Tuesday voters recalled clerk Jean Bethem, treasurer Kathy Spray and township trustees Bernie Schramm and Timothy Borowics.

They have been replaced by Lisa Porter, Johanna Pluszczynski, Rodney Lahaie and Greg Elliot.

The man who filed the recall petitions earlier this year says the community is already looking towards the future.

“We have good strong candidates, all with good background, all ready to hit the road running here so I’m pleased with everybody, pleased with the results. I think this is good for the entire county, I think this is good for the city of Cheboygan and it’s really good for Inverness Township,” says Gerald Rintamaki who filed recall petitions.

According to uncertified election results, the township officials were recalled by a two to one margin.