Tech on Tuesday: Instagram Hashtags

Instagram just keeps getting more interesting!

Last month, Instagram rolled out two fun new features we’re breaking down for you this week.

If you’re familiar with Instagram, you know the hashtags you pick are just as important as the picture they are attached too.

You can now follow a hashtag just as you would follow a friend.

Here’s how it works:

  • Start by searching for a topic you’re interested in or taping on a hashtag from any post. Instagram will then show you relevant hashtags and related accounts in your search result.
  • Pick a hashtag that interests you, open the hashtag page and simply tap on the follow button.
  • From there, Instagram’s algorithms will start picking some top posts from that specific hashtag and displaying them in your feed. It will also show you some of the latest Instagram Stories.

Before adding this feature, Instagrammers could only really interact with hashtags in two ways. The first was to click on a hashtag to see other posts with the same hashtag. The other was to search for a specific tag in the Explore section.

With millions of people sharing photos and videos tagged with relevant hashtags every day, filtering through all of them in the Explore section can sometimes be overwhelming.

By following a hashtag, Instagrammers have new, easier ways to discover photos, videos and accounts that interest them.

If you decide you no longer want to see posts from a certain hashtag in your feed, you can simply unfollow the hashtag.

And that’s not all that’s new with Instagram. At the end of last month, Instagram also introduced a new feature to let you send live videos to friends in Direct.

Whether it’s your own live video, or a live video you’re watching, you can now send it to friends with a single tap.

When you’re live, all you have to do is tap the Direct icon at the bottom of the screen and send it to your friends.

Once you send it, your friends will see your live video in their Direct inbox.

Keep in mind, they will only be able to view it will you are live.

When your live video ends, your friends will see a message letting them know the video has ended.

If you want to send someone else’s live video to a friend, you follow the same process.

Tap the Direct icon at the bottom of the screen and select who you want to send the live video to.

Categories: the four, the four Express