Ferris State’s Vander Laan named 2015 Harlon Hill finalist

BIG RAPIDS – Ferris State senior quarterback and reigning Harlon Hill Trophy recipient Jason Vander Laan has been named as one of eight national finalists for the 2015 Harlon Hill Trophy.

The senior is the fifth player in school history to be named a national finalist for the award and among five quarterbacks and three running backs comprising the 2015 list of nominees.

Vander Laan concluded his collegiate campaign by totaling 4,167 yards of offense this year on 2,625 yards passing and 1,542 yards rushing, earning Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive year and leading the Bulldogs to their second straight undefeated regular season. The quarterback throw for 27 touchdowns and rushed for an additional 24, ranking second in Division II in points per game with 25.5.

Vander Laan also became the greatest rushing quarterback in NCAA history across all levels this fall, ending his career with 5,953 yards on the ground. He also became the first the player in NCAA history to have both 1,000 yards passing and rushing in four consecutive seasons. In addition, the senior is one of 12 national finalists for the Campbell Trophy, which honors the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

The winner of the 2015 Harlon Hill Trophy will be announced on Friday, Dec. 18, with a luncheon held on the campus of the University of North Alabama on Jan. 8, 2016.