Local players dominate Class D All-State in girls hoops

 The Associated Press Class D girls basketball All-State team, as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sports writers:


   Taylor Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian, Sr., Player of the Year

   Taylor Bryant, Newberry, So.

   Chelsey Closs, Mackinaw City, Jr.

   Allison Fuller, Athens, Sr.

   Averi Gamble, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart, Jr.

   Miranda Jacobson, Iron Mountain North Dickinson, Sr.

   Mackenna Kelly, Frankfort, Jr.

   Leighton Koepke, Bellaire, Sr.

   Abbey Ostman, St. Ignace, Jr.

   Maria Stankiewicz, Crystal Falls Forest Park, Jr.

   Lexi Szymoniak, Onaway, Sr.



   Jaden Clobes, Bay City All Saints


   SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel):

   Areona `Tiny’ Hunter, Wyoming Potter House; Alyssa Larson, Big Rapids Crossroads; Kiara Nieto, Adrian Lenawee Christian; Allyson Richards, Fruitport Calvary Christian; Courtney Wolf, Morrice.



   Shannon Bates, Bay City All Saints; Jenna Boyl, Kingston; Miranda Carlson, Big Rapids Crossroads; Jackie Friel, Mendon; Jazmin Hildebrand, Martin; Hailey Maas, St. Joseph Michigan Lutheran; Averi Munro, Morrice; Bekah Myler, Gaylord St. Mary; Brandy O’Neal, Bellaire; Hannah Starnes, Bark-River Harris; Riley Terwilliger, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart.


   COACHES: Fred Bryant, Newberry.


   Voting panel: David Bossick, Ludington Daily News; Bill Broderick, Battle Creek Enquirer; Brian Calloway, Lansing State Journal; Matt Sheehan, Times Herald (Port Huron); David Goricki, The Detroit News; Fred Kelly, Midland Daily News; Matthew B. Mowery, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Michael Niziolek, MLive-Ann Arbor; Nich Wolak, Grand Haven Tribune; Eric Woodyard, MLive-Flint.