HS Wresting Individual District Results

Dozens of local athletes thrived on the mat this afternoon. See if your favorites finished first in their respective weight class.
Division 1, District 2-1
               Traverse City West's Vince Priante won the 103 lbs first place match, winning by injury default over Midland's Mateo Diaz.
Division 2, District 9-2
               Petoskey's Gage Paul won by decision over Clio's Chase Cross, in the 140 lbs first place match.
               Gaylord wrestlers had a good day, winning five weight classes. Tristan Gregory won by fall over in 189 lbs, Shane Foster won by decision in the 215 lbs, Trevor Giallombardo won by fall over in 103 lbs, Dominic LaJoie won by decision in 112 lbs and Jon Martin won by major decision in 125 first place match.
               While Sault Ste. Marie's Chase Bouschor topped Gaylord's Tim Roney in overtime. 
Division 3, District 17-3
               Benzie Central's Jeff Crouch, Devlin Philo, Tim Smith all took first place. 
               Roscommon wrestlers Brenden Spencer and Ethan Noreyko won the 103 and 112 first place matches respectfully. 
               Two Clare wrestlers took home first place today. Eric Litke won by decision and Brenden Hensley won by fall over.
               In the 140 first place match, Grayling's Zach Cheney won by decision. Evan Erts from Manistee (Onekama) won by fall over over Roscommon's Danny Rowe.
Division 3, District 19-3
               At Remus- Chippewa Hills, Jaycob Sharp thrived at home, winning by decision over Grant's Chase Hicks. His teammates Mason Dey and Kevin Briscoe also won their first place matches.
               Alma also took home multiple wins. Boyd Hubbard won by major decision in the 171 lbs first place match, and Damian Castillo won by decision in the 130 lbs first place match.
               In the same gym, Dakota Greer, Nick McGhan and Jarrod Tague from Howard City - Tri County Area took home first.
               While Grant's Brian Hitts, Reed City's Evan Skiver and Lakeview's Nolan Saxton all won this afternoon.
Division 4, District 25-4
               In the Upper Peninsula, James Cryderman of St. Ignace won by decision and Jimmy Spencer of Rudyard (Cedarville) won by a tech fall.

Division 4, District 26-4

              Below the bridge, Rogers City’s Justin Saile, Jacob Sobeck and Cameron Urban won in their first place matches.

              Whittemore- Prescott’s Austin Howard won by decision in the 152 lbs first place match while his classmate Ryan Prescott took the 285 lbs first place match.

              Another school with multiple wins, Leroy-Pine River Area wrestlers. Dominic Garcia, Jeff Gross, Tyler Mccurry, Tony Moore and Nate Park were victorious today.

            Onaway took home two weight classes today. Joe Traynham won the 112 lbs and Isaac Nave the 125 lbs.

            In the 130 lbs first place match, Mio- Au Sable’s Hunter Eurich won by decision over McCallum Tyler of Charlevoix and Elk Rapid’s Chris Gillissie won by fall over Charlevoix’s Sam Hovie.

Division 4, District 29-4

               Finally Montabella's Zack Taubitz won by decision in his 152 lbs first place match.
Competition will continue on Wednesday (2/18) with Team Regionals. Individual Regionals will be held Saturday February 21.