Eight Counties Now On Disaster Declaration

 Spring flooding’s still impacting several northern Michigan counties.

They hope an expanded disaster declaration will help.

In addition to Osceola and Newaygo counties, Governor Snyder designated Roscommon, Missaukee, Mecosta, Isabella, Muskegon and Wexford as disaster areas.

Heavy rain swelled rivers and washed out culverts, just some of the problems several Northern Michigan counties are still dealing with.

Road commissions say hundreds of washed away roads need repair, but it’s not in their budgets. Wexford County sustained more than 400-thousand dollars in damage from the flood. Alan Cooper, the Wexford County Road Commission manager says, “Well, we’ve had probably close to 30 sites that have washed out in different locations, some of them are culverts, some are road sides.”

And with these unexpected projects and expenses, they want to get federal help so they can fix these damaged roads. They could receive up to $100,000 if the Presidential Declaration passes. But in the meantime, they have to wait and hope there’s no further damage.