Datsyuk wins 3rd straight Selke Trophy

Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk has won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward for the third straight year. Selke was honored Wednesday as part of the league's award ceremony. He beat Vancouver's Ryan Kesler and Pittsburgh's Jordan Staal, the other Selke finalists. Datsyuk is the first player to win it three years in a row since Montreal's Bob Gainey captured the award four straight times from 1978-81. Datsyuk had 132 takeaways, leading the league for the third time in four seasons. Kesler was second in the league with 83 takeaways. He won 55 percent of his faceoffs, averaged nearly 20 minutes of ice time per game — a career high — had 95 hits and 73 blocked shots. Staal was a first-time Selke finalist. (Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)