Seven Northern Michigan wrestlers win individual State Titles - Northern Michigan's News Leader

Seven Northern Michigan wrestlers win individual State Titles

Posted: Updated:

Seven Northern Michigan wrestlers took home an individual State Title Saturday night from the Palace of Auburn Hills.

Hesperia wrestlers matched off against each other in a pair of Division 4 Championship matches.  Zach Yates stayed undefeated by beating Logan Eaves 15-0 in the 125-pound weight class.  In the 103-pound weight class Davian Gowens won against teammate Corey Agens 14-6.

Onaway's Joe Traynham won his State Championship with a 16-4 win against Roddy Hamdan of Hudson Area in the 112-pound class.

Whittemore-Prescott's Ryan Prescott capped off a perfect 37-0 season with a fall against Ryan Boardman of Hillsdale in the 285-pound class.  Prescott pinned Boardman 2:41 into the match.

In Division 3, Sanford-Meridian's Erik Fader beat Allendale's Glenn Guernik 7-6 in extra time of the 285-pound match.  Farwell's Tristen Zienkiewic won a State Title by beating Jared Elliott 4-3 in the 160-pound weight class.

In Division 2, Gaylord Freshman Dominic LaJoie beat Dalton Roberts 11-7 in the 103-pound weight class.